I read ” The Hot Zone” by Richard Preston it in one swoop overnight. The book scared me so much I haven’t stopped talking about this piece of non-fiction since.

Between 1967 – 1993 a deadly, exotic “hot” virus made its way from the African rainforests to  the suburbs of Washington leaving its victims literally dissolving to death.

The deadly ebola virus is the star of this bone chilling epidemiological thriller. 

Preston does a remarkable job of piecing together interviews and scientific information to craft a medical cliffhanger like nothing else I’ve read.

When Steven King describes this  book as “One of the most horrifying things I’ve ever read”, you know you are onto a really scary read.

This book was published in 1994; I have no idea why I took so long to pick it up.

